Dr. Bireswar Chakrabarti Oration 2017 Awardee

Debasish Sinha
   Dr. Debasish Sinha
  Associate Professor of Ophthalmology
  The Wilmer Eye Institute
  The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
The research focus of Dr. Debasish Sinha is to explore the role of glial cells in central nervous system diseases, the processes of autophagy and phagocytosis in retinal pigmented epithelial cells and regulation of the immune system in age-related macular degeneration.

Dr. D. Balasubramanian Oration 2017 Awardee

Govindasamy Kumaramanickavel
Prof. G. Kumaramanickavel
Research Director
Narayana Nethralaya,
Bangalore and Aditya Jyot Eye Hospital,
Prof. Kumaramanickavel is a well-known ocular geneticist and his research focus is on the genomics of retinal dystrophies, glaucoma, diabetic retinopathy and paediatric eye diseases. He has contributed largely towards genetic testing and counselling for various eye diseases.